Recipes

First month on a vegan diet: meals, friends reactions, how I feel now.

pexels-photo-115537.jpeg

I wanted to go vegan for such a long time and now I’m finally able to do so. Today I’d like to share with you my thoughts after one month of being vegan. Let’s go!

What I eat now?

My diet is based on veggies, fruits and legumes. I drink a lot of veggie juices, and withΒ the pulp of juicing, I make fritters.Β I also love cream soups, and I often make a pumpkin or spinach one. They are super easy and taste like heaven.

I taught myself to make hummus, vegan mayonnaise and vegan pancakes!

About going out with friends, I eat out quite a lot, and I’m not having any trouble finding vegan meals.

My body

I read a lot of horror stories online that first few days of a vegan diet can be hard. As for me, nothing happened. My digestion is still okay, I have the same amount of energy and I’m not experiencing any of skin breakouts. Honestly, I feel amazing!

The thing that improved is definitely my sleep. I used to have such a hard time falling asleep, I tossed and turned for a few hours. Now, as soon as I go to sleep, I fall asleep. I have no idea why, but I’m sure it has something to do with going vegan, cause it’s the only thing I do differently now. I also wake up more easily. Weird, isn’t it?

I don’t crave snacks so much. I eat breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper and I don’t need to snack between the meals! I often have to remind myself to eat nuts and goji berries I brought with me cause otherwise I would forget.

With not craving snacks goes not craving sweets. I used to love to treat myself with chocolate and I was having moments of ‘I need to eat chocolate or I’d die a terrible death in this exact moment’. Now I don’t even look at it in the store. Crazy!

pexels-photo-53821

Reactions

My friends reacted to the happy news with compassion and understanding: they know that I wanted to go vegan for a long time and they are more than supportive.

(Recently, me and my friends were invited to a sleepover in my friend’s new house. Of course, I had to tell her that I’m vegan since she wanted to make us some food. It turned out that she had a hard time cause I’m a vegan, my friend is gluten intolerant and the other friend has various food allergies including carrots and rice. A bit of a challenge, isn’t it?)

However, the strangers reactions surprised me.

People want to catch me eating animal products. I’m a vegan rookie, so I’m not experienced enough to know every snackΒ with animal products in it, and when I was at a party snacking on chips, someone came up to me with a weird smirk on his face and said: you’re not vegan, you’re eating those chips with animal product within. I was like: why are you telling me now when I’ve already eaten it? I didn’t get a response, unfortunately, but I felt like this person was really happy that I failed. Totally my fault, I know, but it still wasn’t okay.

Also, I’ve received a few “Have you finished being vegan yet?”, and it made me a bit sad. Trying to diminish my choice as just a silly phase that I will grow out of is extremely rude.

I taught myself not to react aggressively to this kind of behavior. If someone confronts me, I’m trying to be as informative and non confrontational as possible.

carrot-juice-juice-carrots-vegetable-juice-162670.jpeg

As they say, be the person you wanted to meet when you were younger. Now I also want to be the vegan I wanted to meet before going vegan!

Lots of love!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

