Books & Culture

Books I’ve recently picked up

 

pexels-photo-99561

SPOILER – there are no spoilers.

I’ve recently read a ton of books. Some of them I liked, some weren’t as good as I imagined. Let’s go through the ones worth mentioning!

1. King Leopold’s Ghost by Adam Hoschchild

515xErPPvmL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I’ve never really knew a lot about colonialism. My country has no history of exploiting other countries, so at history lessons, we didn’t give those topics a lot of time.

I realised that, as a european, I was quite ignorant.

The book tells a story of Congo under belgian rule. A story that makes you rethink of what you know, makes you think – who really paid for the things we have in Europe?

It’s a fascinating read. It has everything a good story needs – heroes, villains, kings and queens. Victories and failures. Talent and madness. Altruism and greed. Power and impotence. A must-read. Definitely.

2. Misery by Stephen King

960.jpg
Oh hi Annie!

Meet Annie. She’s quite a character.

The fact that me, the biggest horror fan, couldn’t make myself to read this one is a shame!

I know I can may get crucified for this by die-hard King fans but I was a bit disappointed. Although I loved the ending, the first part of the book was hard to read. I don’t know, maybe I expected too much?

3. The Leftovers  by Tom Perrotta

41pqfMaMD1L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

“What if — whoosh, right now, with no explanation — a number of us simply vanished? Would some of us collapse? Would others of us go on, one foot in front of the other, as we did before the world turned upside down?” As soon as I read this, I had to read this book. I mean, doesn’t it sound exciting?

Even though a unexpected wipe-out sounds like an idea from a movie about aliens, the book doesn’t really focus on the vanishing itself. It focuses on people and how they deal with loss.

I have to say that some of the story lines are really dull and boring. Even though the idea of the story is amazing, I feel like the author could do a lot better.

 

4. Carl Gustav Jung by Ann Casement

If you ever find yourself digging through wikipedia pages on Jung, Freud, psychoteraphy or you want to know more about one of the greatest thinkers, this is definitely a book for you! The author goes through Jungs life and work, explains his theories and quotes. I’m sure that even a person with no scientific knowledge of psychology would find it very interesting!

5. Domes of Fire by David Eddings

Walking across my university’s library I found an old book with 80’s cover.

David_Eddings_portrait
I’m a fan now. 

I loved it, and decided to give it a try. Thank you Lord for making me stumble upon this fantasy treasure!

If you’re geekier than me, I’m sure you know about this author already. Apparently, he’s one of the best selling fantasy authors. Shame on me!

The book is witty, funny, deep and surprising, even though stays in a typical fantasy world with ancient gods, trolls, magicians, princesses and powerful crystals popping out from every bush.

 

If you are a fantasy fan, or you’re looking for a gift for a fantasy fan, this is your salvation.

6. Catch Me if You Can by Frank Abagnale & Stan Redding

CatchMeIfYouCan_Trailer1.jpg
If I had a bank, I’d let you cash those fake cheques Leo. No prob.

We all know the story and we all swoon over Leo. That’s a fact.

Actually, it’s not. I mean, the Leo part is true. But the story? Not really.

It’s a short read, great for a longer train trip. Some of the stories we already know from the movie, some are new (the scary prison part) and mind blowing. What I liked is that I could a get little bit deeper into Frank’s mind, which is always good.

(Since “Orange is the New Black” by Piper Kerman I try to avoid memoirs of the films I love. But this one is really interesting, I swear!)

books-2085589_640

Any book recommendations for me?

1 thought on “Books I’ve recently picked up”

  1. Omg I had no idea that The Leftovers was a book! I’ve been watching the show on HBO – sometimes it’s good, sometimes I think it’s dull, so that sounds like how you feel about the book. Lol.
    I’ve read a few good books lately and posted reviews on my site – that might help you with new ideas for what to read next 🙂
    Currently reading a futuristic/ dystopian story about American during/ after a semiconductor civil war. I’m in the early chapters but it’s interesting so far.

    Like

Leave a Reply

